pancreas_largePancreas is the official journal of the American Pancreatic Association. Pancreas provides a central forum for communication of original works involving both basic and clinical research on the exocrine and endocrine pancreas and their interrelationships and consequences in disease states. This multidisciplinary, international journal covers the whole spectrum of basic sciences, etiology, prevention, pathophysiology, diagnosis, and surgical and medical management of pancreatic diseases, including cancer.

APA Members receive free online access to Pancreas and discounted subscription rates for the hard copy of the journal.


 pancreapedia logo 220px widePancreapedia is an open access, on-line, knowledge base relating to the exocrine pancreas that is sponsored by the American Pancreatic Association.  It includes up to date citable reviews, methods articles as well as containing a worldwide directory of pancreatologists.  APA members are invited to both find and contribute information to the Pancreapedia. Please register and add yourself and your interests to the Directory.

APA Member Login

IAP/APA Acute Pancreatitis Guidelines Published

The evidence-based guidelines for the management of acute pancreatitis guidelines are now available. These are an update of the 2002 IAP Guidelines are a result of an international review group and one-day, interactive meeting held in conjunction with the 2012 APA/IAP joint meeting.

The following individuals have served as Presidents of the American Pancreatic Association:

  • 2016: Carlos Fernandez-del Castillo
  • 2015: Anirban Maitra
  • 2014: Stephen Pandol
  • 2013: Martin Freeman
  • 2012: Rodger Liddle
  • 2011: Diane Simeone
  • 2010: Suresh Chari
  • 2009: Andrew L. Warshaw
  • 2008: Craig Logsdon
  • 2007: Raul Urrutia
  • 2006: Chris Forsmark
  • 2005: Ashok Saluja PhD
  • 2004: David Whitcomb
  • 2003: Laurence Miller
  • 2002: Jill P. Smith
  • 2001: Edward L. Bradley, III
  • 2000: William Y. Chey
  • 1999: Fred S. Gorelick
  • 1998: Peter A. Banks
  • 1997: Murray Korc
  • 1996: William Steinberg
  • 1995: Michael L. Steer
  • 1994: James H. Grendell
  • 1993: Courtney M. Townsend, Jr.
  • 1992: Travis Solomon
  • 1991: Phillip P. Toskes
  • 1990: James D. Jamieson
  • 1989: V. Liang W. Go
  • 1988: Daniel S. Longnecker
  • 1987: Michael Levitt
  • 1986: John A. Williams
  • 1985: Eugene DiMagno
  • 1984: Howard A. Reber
  • Frank Brooks
  • Frank Moody
  • Paul Webster
  • Jerry Gardner
  • George Scheele